Arbroath Signal Tower Museum
Signal Tower Museum is located near Arbroath harbour. The Signal Tower was the shore station and family accommodation for the Bell Rock Lighthouse, built in 1813 11 miles off-shore. Discover the fascinating maritime heritage of Arbroath and the history of the world famous Arbroath Smokie.
Bell Rock Lighthouse
The North Sea, 11 miles (17.5 km) southeast of Arbroath
One of the major engineering feats of the early 19th Century the Bell Rock Lighthouse was designed by noted lighthouse engineer Robert Stevenson (1772 – 1850) and came into service in 1811. Formerly also called the Inch Cape, the reef came to be known as the Bell Rock when an Abbot of Arbroath set up a bell here to warn sailors of the danger. Southey’s famous Ballad of the Inchcape Rock tells how Sir Ralph the Rover cut down the bell and a year later perished when his ship hit the same rock.
Read the Declaration of Arbroath in the abbey in which Scotland’s nobility proclaimed their independence from England around 1320. Or listen to your voice in the sacristy, which has one of the longest echoes in the country. The abbey was founded in 1178 by King William the Lion, who was buried here.
The Abbey Theatre Club was formed in 1964. It presents seven times a year, including a youth group production and a pantomime.
Arbroath Art Gallery
There are significant groups of work by William Lamb of Montrose, David Waterson of Brechin and James Watterson Herald of Forfar and Arbroath, which make up a considerable part of the collection. Highlights of the oil painting collection include works by Henry Raeburn, James Irvine, George Paul Chalmers, Edward Baird, William Littlejohn, James McIntosh Patrick and James Morrison.
Hospitalfield House is a stunning early Arts & Crafts Scottish Baronial country house, left in trust in 1890 to support artists. The organisation runs a programme of public events, including quarterly Open Weekends, weekly tours during the summer, a Garden Cafe and residencies for artists.
Garden Cafe located in Hospitalfield’s beautiful Walled Gardens serves up a seasonal changing menu of delicious lunches, cakes and drinks on Wednesdays and special cakes and drinks on Saturdays.
St Vigean’s Sculptured Museum
This is one of the most important collections of Pictish Christian stones. It includes the Drosten Stone, which carries a remarkable inscription and includes a hooded hunter and a squatting imp.
Dunninald Castle and Gardens
Dunninald was built in 1824 by the architect James Gillespie Graham in the Gothic Revival style. Guided tours of the castle explain the history of the house, the collections of furniture, paintings and displays of fine needlework photographs and memorabilia, examples of fine plasterwork and trempe l’oeil are also on show.
House of Dun
A beautiful Georgian house, overlooking Montrose Basin, with later Victorian influences both structurally and decorative. The house is situated within the Dun Estate which has been in the possession of the Erskine family since 1375.
Home to the Earls of Strathmore and Kinghorne, setting for Shakespeare’s Macbeth and beloved childhood home of the Queen Mother, Glamis Castle has witnessed over 600 years of history. Visits to the castle are by guided tour only and tours leave regularly throughout the day. The restaurant provides a variety of quality meals, sweets and drinks, all served by award winning caterers.